Philippians 2:3

January 25, 2011

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourself.

This is so difficult for me. I’ve been realizing through a recent conflict the hold that pride has on me. I saw myself angry with someone and asking God, ‘what is my obligation toward this person?’ I was willing to love, but shallowly. I know, this is not love at all. I of course did not ask ‘what is my obligation toward myself?’ It’s assumed within my thought process that I will make sure I am taken care of. Maybe that means winning. Maybe that means losing and showing myself to be a better ‘follower’ of God in my losing. But not losing losing. That’s asking a bit much, isn’t it?

Yet Christ lost lost. He did it. How can i do any less?

 

 

Leave a comment